comsol
  • Description

COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.2a includes new and updated solvers, added support for absorbing layers for wave propagation in the time domain, a new Multiphysics table for enabling and disabling multiphysics couplings in a study, and more. Browse all of the COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.2a updates pertaining to studies and solvers below.

New Smoothed Aggregation Algebraic Multigrid (AMG) Solver

A new state-of-the-art algebraic multigrid solver (AMG), the Smoothed aggregation AMG solver, can be useful for a wide range of applications. This new solver is better suited for problems with strong couplings between field variables, such as linear elasticity for structural analysis, than the previously available classical AMG solver. The main benefit of the AMG method compared to the geometrical multigrid (GMG) method is that no mesh generation is needed for the coarser grid levels. This is beneficial for large CAD models where creating a coarse mesh may be challenging or impossible.

The mesh for a structural analysis of a frame with bracket. As shown, a coarser mesh would be impossible to create for this model. The model has 250,000 quadratic tet elements and 1282k DOFs. The solution process requires 51 iterations with the Conjugate Gradients solver using the new Smoothed aggregation AMG as a preconditioner. The solution time is 65 seconds and the memory requirement is 3.5 GB on a workstation with an Intel® Xeon® processor E5-1650 3.5 GHz.

The mesh for a structural analysis of a frame with bracket. As shown, a coarser mesh would be impossible to create for this model. The model has 250,000 quadratic tet elements and 1282k DOFs. The solution process requires 51 iterations with the Conjugate Gradients solver using the new Smoothed aggregation AMG as a preconditioner. The solution time is 65 seconds and the memory requirement is 3.5 GB on a workstation with an Intel® Xeon® processor E5-1650 3.5 GHz.

The smoothed aggregation AMG method functions by clustering nodes of degrees of freedom (DOFs) into aggregates based on a connectivity criterion. Each aggregate then becomes a new node on the next multigrid level, and the algorithm proceeds until either a certain number of levels has been reached or until the number of DOFs is sufficiently small.

The Introduction to COMSOL Multiphysics manual contains a detailed step-by-step instruction of a mesh convergence analysis using the newSmoothed aggregation AMG solver.

The computed stresses from a structural analysis of a frame with bracket and the Settings window for the Smoothed aggregation AMG solver.

The computed stresses from a structural analysis of a frame with bracket and the Settings window for the Smoothed aggregation AMG solver.

A structural analysis of a hard-tail aluminum mountain bike frame. The model has 194,000 quadratic tet elements and 1157k DOFs. The solution process requires 117 iterations with the Conjugate Gradients solver using the new Smoothed aggregation AMG as a preconditioner. The solution time is 96 seconds and the memory requirement is 3.1 GB, on a workstation with an Intel® Xeon® processor E5-1650 3.5 GHz.

A structural analysis of a hard-tail aluminum mountain bike frame. The model has 194,000 quadratic tet elements and 1157k DOFs. The solution process requires 117 iterations with the Conjugate Gradients solver using the new Smoothed aggregation AMG as a preconditioner. The solution time is 96 seconds and the memory requirement is 3.1 GB, on a workstation with an Intel® Xeon® processor E5-1650 3.5 GHz.

Application Library path:

Structural_Mechanics_Module/Applications/bike_frame_analyzer_llsw

New Direct Solver for Clusters

A new direct solver for clusters has been added: the Parallel Direct Sparse Solver for Clusters from the Intel® Math Kernel Library software product. This solver is automatically chosen when selecting the PARDISO option when running models on clusters. The PARDISO solver, used for shared-memory computations, is also available in the Intel® Math Kernel Library software product. In previous versions, when selecting thePARDISO solver option while running your model on a cluster, the MUMPS solver was used instead, due to the lack of an alternative direct solver on clusters. You can still revert to the old method by deselecting the Parallel Direct Sparse Solver for Clusters check box.

Upgraded MUMPS Solver

The direct MUMPS solver has been upgraded and provides significantly better performance thanks to a new implementation of OpenMP® API parallelism.

Optimized Domain Decomposition Solver

The Domain Decomposition solver has been refined and optimized for handling large problems, especially for strongly coupled multiphysics phenomena where, previously, a direct solver was the only option.

  • The solver uses the METIS algorithm for its domain partitioning, by default.
  • The solver has been improved by adding an optimized setup phase and includes more efficient communication when running on clusters.
  • The coarse grid for this solver can now be set up using algebraic methods (AMG). This is preferred, because very coarse grids can be used and the technique does not require mesh generation (for which coarse-level generation can fail for complicated CAD models).

Application Library path for an example that uses the Optimized Domain Decomposition Solver:

Acoustics_Module/Tutorials/transfer_impedance_perforate

Velocity and the total acoustic pressure in the transfer impedance of a perforate model. The model is solved with 18 GMRES iterations precoditioned with the Domain Decomposition method. The method has automatically divided the computation into 30 subdomains using 10 domain groups. The subdomains are solved for with a direct solver, which is the only viable solver for this strongly coupled problem. The computations require 14.3 GB of RAM by recomputing and clearing the LU factors in between the subdomain solutions steps. The computation takes 1 hour and 21 minutes to finish. The total number of DOFs is 2579k and 409k tetrahedral elements are used. As a comparison, the memory requirement when using a direct solver is 120 GB.
Velocity and the total acoustic pressure in the transfer impedance of a perforate model. The model is solved with 18 GMRES iterations precoditioned with the Domain Decomposition method. The method has automatically divided the computation into 30 subdomains using 10 domain groups. The subdomains are solved for with a direct solver, which is the only viable solver for this strongly coupled problem. The computations require 14.3 GB of RAM by recomputing and clearing the LU factors in between the subdomain solutions steps. The computation takes 1 hour and 21 minutes to finish. The total number of DOFs is 2579k and 409k tetrahedral elements are used. As a comparison, the memory requirement when using a direct solver is 120 GB.

Nonreflecting Absorbing Layers for Time-Dependent Wave Simulations

Built-in support for absorbing layers for wave propagation in the time domain has been introduced, using the nodal discontinuous Galerkin method. Absorbing layers are used as nonreflecting boundary conditions, created by adding extra subdomains with an absorbing layer property outside of the computational region of interest; the layers are stretched by a coordinate transformation and the waves are damped by filter techniques. For the outer boundary of the absorbing layers, a local low-reflecting boundary condition is used.

This technique effectively reduces reflections coming out from the layer, giving a general-purpose method for reducing the computational domain for scattering problems and for other problems where the nonreflecting boundary conditions are needed.

Application Library paths for examples that use the new discontinuous Galerkin method:

Acoustics_Module/Ultrasound/ultrasound_flow_meter_generic

Acoustics_Module/Tutorials/gaussian_pulse_absorbing_layers

A Gaussian pressure pulse in the symmetry plane of a model where the waves are absorbed in the absorbing layers at the left and right side of the main flow channel using the newly introduced discontinuous Galerkin method.
A Gaussian pressure pulse in the symmetry plane of a model where the waves are absorbed in the absorbing layers at the left and right side of the main flow channel using the newly introduced discontinuous Galerkin method.

Parametric Sweeps in Batch Mode Using a List of Parameters

You can now run a sweep using a list of parameter values as input without defining them in the user interface. This functionality has previously only been available by configuring a sweep using COMSOL Desktop®through a Parametric Sweep. The sweep runs for each parameter value and stores the results in a separate file. The list can also be read from file.

An example of a batch command with a list of two parameters used as input arguments:

comsolbatch.exe -inputfile feeder_clamp.mph -pname D,d -plist 7,3.75,8,4,9,4.09,10,4.12,11,4.89,12,4.5

An example of the same sweep, but instead using a file parameters.csv for specifying the list of parameters:

comsolbatch.exe -inputfile feeder_clamp.mph -paramfile parameters.csv

Specifying Number of Sockets

In addition to the setting for specifying the number of cores, COMSOL Multiphysics® now has a new option for specifying the number of sockets used on a multisocket computer. This setting is available in the Multicore and Cluster Computing section of the Preferences window.

New Selection for Enabling and Disabling Multiphysics Couplings in a Study

In addition to the previously available table for physics interfaces to solve for, a new Multiphysics table allows you to selectively enable and disable available multiphysics couplings. This makes it easier to successively add complexity to a model while still using the preconfigured options for multiphysics couplings.

Enable and Disable Infinite Elements and Perfectly Matched Layers from a Study

The Definitions node in the model tree now allows you to enable and disable Infinite Element Domain andPerfectly Matched Layer nodes from a study. This is made available to you when you activate the Modify physics tree and variables option in the study.

comsol
  • Description

COMSOL Multiphysics ® 5.2a版本包含新增及更新的求解器,添加了對時域中波傳播吸收層的支援,添加了用於啟用和禁用研究中的多物理場耦合的新多物理場表格等。瀏覽下文與研究和求解器有關的COMSOL Multiphysics ® 5.2a版本的所有更新。

 

新增平滑聚集代數多重網格(AMG) 求解器

新增先進的代數多重網格求解器(AMG)平滑聚集AMG求解器,對許多應用領域都非常有用。與之前的傳統AMG求解器相比,這個新求解器更適用於場變量之間的強耦合問題,例如,結構分析的線彈性。AMG方法相比幾何多格點(GMG)方法的主要優勢在於無需為較粗化格點級別生成網格。這對於創建粗化網格非常困難或不可能實現的較大的CAD模型來說非常有益。

帶支架框架的結構分析網格。 如圖所示,無法為該模型創建較粗化網格。 模型中具有250,000 個二次四面體單元和1,282,000 個自由度。 求解過程需要51 次迭代,其中共軛梯度求解器使用新的平滑聚集AMG 作為預處理器。 在Intel® Xeon® 處理器E5-1650 3.5 GHz 的工作站上解算時間為65 秒,內存要求具有3.5 GB 可用空間。

帶支架框架的結構分析網格。如圖所示,無法為該模型創建較粗化網格。模型中具有250,000個二次四面體元素和1,282,000個自由度。求解過程需要51次迭代,其中共軛梯度求解器使用新的平滑聚集AMG作為預處理器。在Intel® Xeon®處理器E5-1650 3.5 GHz的工作站上解算時間為65秒,記憶體要求具有3.5 GB可用空間。

 

平滑聚集AMG”方法透過將自由度(DOF) 的節點基於連接準則聚集到集合來發揮作用。然後,每個集合將變為下一多格點級別的新節點,算法將繼續進行,直到達到一定數量的級別,或直到自由度數量足夠小。

COMSOL Multiphysics簡介手冊包含使用新的平滑聚集AMG求解器進行網格收斂性分析的詳細逐步說明。

 

對帶支架的框架進行結構分析計算得出的應力以及平滑聚集AMG 求解器的“設置”窗口。

對帶支架的框架進行結構分析計算得出的應力以及平滑聚集AMG求解器的“設置”窗口。

鋁硬尾山地自行車框架的結構分析。 該模型具有194,000 個二次四面體單元和1,157,000 個自由度。 求解過程需要117 次迭代,其中共軛梯度求解器使用新的平滑聚集AMG 作為預處理器。 在Intel® Xeon® 處理器E5-1650 3.1 GHz 的工作站上解算時間為96 秒,內存要求具有3.1 GB 可用空間。

鋁硬尾山地自行車框架的結構分析。該模型具有194,000個二次四面體元素和1,157,000個自由度。求解過程需要117次迭代,其中共軛梯度求解器使用新的平滑聚集AMG作為預處理器。在Intel® Xeon®處理器E5-1650 3.1 GHz的工作站上解算時間為96秒,記憶體要求具有3.1 GB可用空間。

應用資料庫路徑:

Structural_Mechanics_Module/Applications/bike_frame_analyzer_llsw

查看螢幕截圖»

 

用於叢集的新直接求解器

添加了用於叢集的新直接求解器:來自Intel® Math Kernel Library軟件產品的用於叢集的平行直接稀疏求解器。在叢集上運行模型的情況下選擇PARDISO選項時將自動選擇此求解器。PARDISO求解器用於共享記憶體的計算,也可在Intel® Math Kernel Library軟件產品中使用。在之前的版本中,在叢集上運行模型的情況下選擇PARDISO求解器選項時,會使用MUMPS求解器,原因是叢集上缺少備用的直接求解器。您仍可透過取消選中用於叢集的並行直接稀疏求解器複選框恢復為舊方法。

查看螢幕截圖»

 

MUMPS 求解器的性能提升

直接MUMPS 求解器已升級,顯著提升了性能,這歸功於執行新的OpenMP® API 並行算法。

 

域分解求解器得到了優化

域分解求解器已細化並優化,用於處理大問題,尤其是強耦合的多物理場現象,而這種問題之前只能透過直接求解器處理。

·       預設情況下,求解器對其域分割使用METIS 算法。

·       求解器已改進,添加了優化的設置階段,在叢集上運行時通信更有效。

·       該求解器的粗化格點現在可透過代數方法(AMG) 設置。這是首選設置,因為可以使用非常粗化的格點,且該技術不需要網格生成(對於復雜的CAD 模型,粗化級別生成可能會失敗)。

使用優化的域分解求解器的案例的應用資料庫路徑:

Acoustics_Module/Tutorials/transfer_impedance_perforate

穿孔板模型的傳輸阻抗中的速度和總聲壓。 模型使用通過“域分解”方法預處理的18 次GMRES 迭代進行求解。 此方法已使用10 個域組自動將計算分為30 個子域。 子域通過直接求解器來求解,這是適用於這個強耦合問題的唯一可行的求解器。 計算需要14.3 GB 的RAM 來重新計算和清除子域解算步驟之間的LU 因子。 計算完成需要1 小時21 分鐘。 自由度總數為2,579,000,使用409,000 個四面體單元。 相比之下,使用直接求解器時的內存要求為120 GB。

穿孔板模型的傳輸阻抗中的速度和總聲壓。模型使用透過域分解方法預處理的18 GMRES 迭代進行求解。此方法已使用10 個域組自動將計算分為30 個子域。子域透過直接求解器來求解,這是適用於這個強耦合問題的唯一可行的求解器。計算需要14.3 GB RAM 來重新計算和清除子域解算步驟之間的LU 因子。計算完成需要1 小時21 分鐘。自由度總數為2,579,000,使用409,000 個四面體元素。相比之下,使用直接求解器時的記憶體要求為120 GB

暫態波模擬的無反射吸收層

使用節點不連續Galerkin 方法引入了對時域中波傳播吸收層的內建支援。吸收層用作無反射邊界條件,透過使用計算區域之外的吸收層屬性添加額外的子域來創建;這些吸收層透過坐標變化來延伸,波透過濾波技術而衰減。對於吸收層的外邊界,使用局部低反射邊界邊界條件。

這個技術可有效減少來自層的反射,提供一種通用方法,用於減少散射問題及需要使用無反射邊界條件的其他問題的計算域。

使用新的不連續Galerkin 方法的應用資料庫案例路徑為:

Acoustics_Module/Ultrasound/ultrasound_flow_meter_generic

Acoustics_Module/Tutorials/gaussian_pulse_absorbing_layers

模型對稱平面中的高斯壓力脈衝,其中,波通過新引入的間斷Galerkin 方法在主流道左右兩側的吸收層被吸收。

模型對稱平面中的高斯壓力脈衝,其中,波透過新引入的不連續Galerkin 方法在主流道左右兩側的吸收層被吸收。

 

使用參數列表在批次處理模式中執行參數化掃描

現在可以使用參數值列表作為輸入來運行掃描,無需在用戶界面中定義。之前只能透過參數化掃描使用COMSOL Desktop ®配置掃描來使用此功能。掃描針對每個參數值運行,並將結果存儲在單獨的檔案中。也可以從檔案中讀取該列表。

帶有用作輸入變數的兩個參數的列表的批次處理命令的案例:

comsolbatch.exe -inputfile feeder_clamp.mph -pname D,d -plist 7,3.75,8,4,9,4.09,10,4.12,11,4.89,12,4.5

同一掃描的案例,但改用檔案parameters.csv來指定參數列表:

comsolbatch.exe -inputfile feeder_clamp.mph -paramfile parameters.csv

查看螢幕截圖»

指定套接數量

除了 ​​指定核數的設置,COMSOL Multiphysics ®現在新增了用於指定在多套接計算機上使用的套接數量的選項。可在首選項窗口的多核與叢集計算欄中使用此設置。

查看螢幕截圖»

 

用於啟用和關閉研究中多物理場耦合的新選擇

除了之前可用於物理場接口求解的表格,還有一個新的多物理場表格,使您可以選擇性啟用和關閉可用的多物理場耦合。這更易於在仍將預配置選項用於多物理場耦合時依次添加模型複雜性。

查看螢幕截圖»

 

從研究中啟用和關閉無限元素和完美匹配層

現在,透過模型樹中的定義節點,您可以從研究中啟用和禁用無限元素域完美匹配層節點。啟動研究中的修改物理場樹和變量選項後可實現這個操作。

查看螢幕截圖»