• Description

Structural Mechanics Module Updates

For users of the Structural Mechanics Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.2a brings a newMagnetostriction interface for modeling a wide range of sensors and actuators, a Poroelasticity interface to easily couple solid mechanics and fluid flow equations, as well as functionality to simulate adhesion and decohesion to analyze the behavior of objects sticking together or being pulled apart. Find more details about all of the Structural Mechanics Module updates below.

New Magnetostriction Interface

A new Magnetostriction interface has been introduced. With this functionality, you can model a wide range of sensors and actuators based on the principles of magnetostriction. One magnetostrictive effect, the Joule effect, describes the change in length due to a change in the magnetization state of the material. This effect is used in transducers for applications in sonar, acoustic devices, active vibration control, position control, and fuel injection systems. The inverse effect accounts for the change in magnetization due to mechanical stress in a material. This effect is known as the Villari effect and is useful for sensors.

When the Magnetostriction interface is added to a model, a Solid Mechanics interface; Magnetic Fields interface; and Magnetostrictionmultiphysics coupling, or series of nodes, are created. In the Solid Mechanics interface, a new material model, Magnetostrictive Material, has been added with three different formulations: Linear, Nonlinear isotropic, and Nonlinear cubic crystal. In the Magnetic Fields interface, the new Ampère’s law, Magnetostrictive feature is used when modeling a magnetostrictive material.

Application Library path for an example that uses the newMagnetostriction interface with the Nonlinear isotropic material model:Structural_Mechanics_Module/Magnetostrictive_Devices/nonlinear_magnetostriction

NOTE: In order to model magnetostrictive behavior, you need the AC/DC Module along with either the Structural Mechanics Module, MEMS Module, or Acoustics Module.

The Nonlinear Magnetostrictive Transducer example, found in the Application Library, uses the Nonlinear isotropic material model.
The Nonlinear Magnetostrictive Transducer example, found in the Application Library, uses the Nonlinear isotropic material model.

New Poroelasticity Interface

There is a new Poroelasticity multiphysics coupling between Solid Mechanics and Darcy’s Law. When adding aPoroelasticity interface in COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.2a, these two separate physics interfaces and the multiphysics coupling, as a series of nodes, are created. This gives you access to all functionality available in the constituent interfaces. As an example, you can now model poroplasticity by adding a Soil Plasticity node in the Solid Mechanics interface.

Application Library path for an example that uses the new Poroelasticity interface:Subsurface_FlowModule/Flow_and_SolidDeformation/multilateral_well

Stress distribution in a poroelastic analysis, from the Application Library's Failure of a Multilateral Well tutorial model.
Stress distribution in a poroelastic analysis, from the Application Library's Failure of a Multilateral Well tutorial model.

NOTE: In order to model poroelastic behavior, use the Subsurface Flow Module or a combination of the Structural Mechanics Module and a fluid flow add-on module that supports the Darcy's Law interface.

Modeling Adhesion and Decohesion

Using the new Adhesion subnode under the Contact node, you can analyze various manufacturing processes that involve parts sticking together and pulling apart. The contacting boundaries will stick together when a certain criterion has been fulfilled. This criterion can either be a contact pressure, a gap distance, or an arbitrary user-defined expression. The latter can, for example, be based on the temperature from a heat transfer study. You can also specify the elastic properties of the virtual adhesive layer.

Two boundaries that are joined by adhesion can separate again if a decohesion law is specified. Also found within the new Adhesionsubnode, and as part of its Settings window, is the ability to chooseDecohesion. There are three different decohesion laws that are included in this subnode: Linear, Polynomial, and Multilinear. The decohesion laws allow mixed-mode decohesion with independent properties for the normal and tangential directions, a technique also known as a cohesive zone model (CZM).

Application Library path for an example that shows the modeling of decohesion:Structural_Mechanics_Module/Contact_and_Friction/cohesive_zone_debonding

An example of adhesion. The cylinder contacts a surface, deforms it, adheres to it, and then remains adhered to it upon returning to the original position.
An example of adhesion. The cylinder contacts a surface, deforms it, adheres to it, and then remains adhered to it upon returning to the original position.

Periodic Conditions for Shells

A new Periodic Condition boundary condition has been added to the Shell interface that is similar to the corresponding boundary condition found in the Solid Mechanics interface. It allows for efficient modeling of periodic structures by coupling corresponding edges. There are five different selections for the type of periodicity: Continuity, Antiperiodicity, Floquet periodicity, Cyclic symmetry, and User defined.

Using periodic conditions, only a 60-degree sector of this shell model is required to be solved.
Using periodic conditions, only a 60-degree sector of this shell model is required to be solved.

Serendipity Elements

Elements of the so-called Serendipity type have been added to the Solid Mechanics and Membrane interfaces to complement the Lagrangian type. For models with predominantly hexahedral elements, using serendipity elements will provide significant performance improvements, run faster, and use less memory. Using serendipity elements is now the default when adding new physics interfaces.

This model is solved using a structured mesh. The solution time has been reduced by a factor of two by choosing the serendipity element option.

This model is solved using a structured mesh. The solution time has been reduced by a factor of two by choosing the serendipity element option.

New Methods for Entering Thermal Expansion Data

There are now three different ways in which thermal expansion material data can be entered:

  1. As a Secant coefficient of thermal expansion. This is the default and the only method available in previous versions.
  2. As a Tangent ("thermodynamic") coefficient of thermal expansion.
  3. By explicitly specifying the Thermal strain as a function of temperature.

By selecting the appropriate option, you can use different types of measured data without conversions. The new options are available in the Solid Mechanics, Membrane, and Truss interfaces.

The Secant coefficient of thermal expansion option is used to compute a total change in strain when the temperature is changed from a certain reference temperature, . The Tangent coefficient of thermal expansion option provides information on the sensitivity of thermal strain with respect to the temperature: . At the reference temperature, the two values coincide.

The Secant and Tangent coefficients of thermal expansion (CTEs) for gold, where room temperature is used as the strain-free reference temperature.
The Secant and Tangent coefficients of thermal expansion (CTEs) for gold, where room temperature is used as the strain-free reference temperature.

Thermal Expansion of Constraints

You can now augment constraint conditions, such as Fixed Constraint and Prescribed Displacement, using aThermal Expansion subnode. This makes it possible to relieve the stresses induced by constraints when the surrounding structure, idealized by the constraints, is not held at a fixed temperature. Similarly, a Thermal Expansion subnode has been added to the Rigid Connector and Attachment nodes, allowing for the thermal expansion of these otherwise rigid objects.

When using this feature, you specify the thermal expansion coefficient and temperature distribution of the nonmodeled surroundings of the structure. The thermal strains caused by these factors are integrated to obtain a displacement field, which is added to the constraint.

The effect of adding thermal expansion to a fixed constraint.
The effect of adding thermal expansion to a fixed constraint.

Shell Coordinate System

The local coordinate system that is applied in the Shell interface has been improved. By moving the definition of the local coordinate systems to a subnode, Shell Local System, which is under the Linear Elastic Material node, it is significantly easier to use different material orientations with the same material data.

A new node, Shell Local System, is also created under Definitions when aShell interface is added. This system contains the local directions for all boundaries on which the Shell interface is active and can be referenced; for example, when setting up multiphysics couplings.

Two different local coordinate systems, one for the cylindrical surface and one for the flat surface.
Two different local coordinate systems, one for the cylindrical surface and one for the flat surface.

Updates to Perfectly Matched Layers (PMLs)

Several options have been added to the Perfectly Matched Layer feature that make it possible to customize the layer properties:

  • The option Enable/disable PMLs in the solver is useful for modeling scattering problems where the source is a computed field.
  • The user-defined geometry type option is available if the PML has a nonstandard geometry, and can also be used if the automatic PML geometry detection fails.
  • You can choose user-defined coordinate stretching functions for defining the PML scaling. This allows you to tailor the scaling inside a PML, for example, to very efficiently absorb waves in specific physics configurations.

New App: Bike Frame Analyzer

The reliability of a bike frame can be estimated by analyzing the structural stress subjected to different load cases. This app leverages LiveLink™ for SOLIDWORKS® to interactively update the geometry while computing stress analyses. Using this app, you can easily test different configurations of a bike frame for different cases of dimensions, material, and loads. The app computes the stress distribution and the deformation of the frame, based on the structural dimensions, materials, and loads/constraints of the bike frame.

To easily keep track of the analyzed CAD design when the geometry in the app is updated from a SOLIDWORKS® document, the app displays CAD file information, such as the date and time of the last update, as well as the document name, its configuration, and display state. You can manipulate the frame geometry's dimensions, such as head angle, seat angle, top tube length, base bottom drop, the chainstay, wheelbase, and stack. You can also define material properties to be aluminum, steel, titanium, or something that you specify. Load cases and constraints can also be specified.

The app allows you to set a maximum allowable stress factor where a control value for the effective stress is computed for a given load case.

Application Library path for the Bike Frame Analyzer app:
LiveLink_for_Soldiworks/Applications/bike_frame_analyzer_llsw
Structural_Mechanics Module/Applications/bike_frame_analyzer_llsw

The user interface of the Bike Frame Analyzer app showing the effective stress on the frame with a 180-degree crank angle.
The user interface of the Bike Frame Analyzer app showing the effective stress on the frame with a 180-degree crank angle.

NOTE: In order to run this app, you need both LiveLink™ for SOLIDWORKS® and the Structural Mechanics Module.

• Description

COMSOL Multiphysics ® 5.2a版針對結構力學模組的用戶引入了新增的用於建模各種感測器和致動器的磁致伸縮介面、可輕鬆耦合結構力學和流體流動方程的多孔彈性介面,以及模擬黏附和脫黏來分析黏在一起或分離的對象行為的功能。請閱讀下文了解有關結構力學模組所有更新的更多詳細資訊。

 

新增磁致伸縮介面

引入了新的磁致伸縮介面。透過這個功能,您可以基於磁致伸縮原則建模多種感測器和致動器。磁致伸縮效應,即焦耳效應,描述由於材料的磁化狀態變化而引起的長度變化。聲吶、聲學設備、主動振動控制、位置控制及噴油系統等應用領域的換能器利用了此效應。其逆效應解釋了由於材料機械應力產生的磁化變化,稱為維拉里效應,對感測器非常有用。

磁致伸縮介面添加到模型後,會創建固體力學介面、磁場介面及磁致伸縮多物理場耦合或一系列節點。在固體力學介面中,添加了新的磁致伸縮材料模型,具有三個不同的公式:線性、非線性等向性和非線性立方晶體。在磁場介面中,在對磁致伸縮材料建模時可以使用新的安培定律,磁致伸縮特徵。

將新的磁致伸縮介面與非線性等向性材料模型結合使用的應用資料庫範例的路徑:Structural_Mechanics_Module/Magnetostrictive_Devices/nonlinear_magnetostriction

備註:要對磁致伸縮行為建模,需要使用“AC/DC 模組及以下模組之一:結構力學模組“MEMS 模組聲學模組

“App 庫”中的非線性磁致伸縮換能器示例,使用非線性各向同性材料模型。

應用資料庫中的非線性磁致伸縮換能器案例,使用非線性等向性材料模型。

 

新的多孔彈性介面

固體力學Darcy定律之間有一個新的多孔彈性多物理場耦合。在COMSOL Multiphysics ® 5.2a版中添加多孔彈性介面時,這兩個單獨的物理場介面和多物理場耦合作為一系列節點被創建。這使您可以訪問構成介面中的所有功能。例如,現在您可以透過在固體力學介面中添加土壤塑性節點來建模孔隙彈性。

使用新的多孔彈性介面的應用資料庫範例的路徑:Subsurface_Flow_Module/Flow_and_Solid_Deformation/multilateral_well

多孔介質分析中的應力分佈,來自“App 庫”的“多分支井破壞”教程模型。

多孔介質分析中的應力分佈,來自應用資料庫多分支井破壞教學模型。

備註:要對多孔介質行為建模,可使用地下水流模組或支持達西定律介面的結構力學模組”和“流體流動插件模組”的組合。

 

建模黏附和脫黏

使用接觸節點下新增的黏附子節點,您可以分析涉及零件黏合和分離的多種製造過程。接觸邊界在滿足特定準則時將黏合在一起,此準則可能是接觸壓力、間隙距離或任意用戶定義的表達式。例如,自定義表達式可以基於熱傳研究中的溫度。您還可以指定虛擬黏合層的彈性屬性。

透過黏附連在一起的兩個邊界在指定脫黏定律時可以再次分離。在新增的黏附子節點及其設置窗口中,可以選擇脫黏。此子節點包含三種不同的脫黏定律:線性多項式多線性。脫黏定律允許與法向和切向的獨立屬性進行混合模式的脫黏,這項技術也稱為內聚力模型(CZM)

顯示脫黏建模的應用資料庫範例的路徑:Structural_Mechanics_Module/Contact_and_Friction/cohesive_zone_debonding

粘附示例。 一個圓柱體接觸曲面,使其變形,粘附上去,然後在保持粘附狀態的同時返回原始位置。

黏附案例。一個圓柱體接觸曲面,使其變形,黏附上去,然後在保持黏附狀態的同時返回原始位置。

查看更多螢幕截圖»

 

殼的周期性條件

新的週期性條件邊界條件已添加到介面,該邊界條件與固體力學介面中相應的邊界條件類似。允許透過耦合對​​應的邊來有效建模週期性結構。週期性類型有五種不同選擇:連續性、反週期性、Floquet週期、循環對稱和用戶定義。

使用周期性條件,只需要此殼模型的60 度扇形進行求解。

使用周期性條件,只需要此殼模型的60 度扇形進行求解。

 

Serendipity邊點單元

被稱為Serendipity邊點類型的單元已添加到固體力學介面,以便補足拉格朗日類型。對於主要包含六面體單元的模型,使用巧湊邊點單元將顯著提高性能、加快運行速度,還能節省記憶體。添加新物理場介面時,現在預設使用Serendipity邊點單元。

此模型使用結構化網格來求解。 通過選擇巧湊邊點單元選項減少了二分之一求解時間。

此模型使用結構化網格來求解。透過選擇Serendipity邊點單元選項減少了二分之一求解時間。

查看更多螢幕截圖»

查看更多螢幕截圖»

 

輸入熱膨脹數據的新方法

現在有三種不同方法可以輸入熱膨脹材料數據:

1.    作為熱膨脹的割線係數。這是之前版本中預設的且唯一可用的方法。

2.    作為熱膨脹的切線熱力學係數

3.    透過顯式指定熱應變作為溫度函數。

透過選擇適當的選項,您可以使用不同類型的測量數據,無需轉換。在固體力學桁架介面中可以使用新選項。

熱膨脹的割線係數選項用於計算在溫度從特定參考溫度發生變化時總的應變變化:熱膨脹的切線係數選項提供熱應變靈敏度隨溫度變化的相關信息:在參考溫度時兩個值一致。

金的正割和正切熱膨脹係數(CTE),其中室溫用作無應變參考溫度。

金的正割和正切熱膨脹係數(CTE),其中室溫用作無應變參考溫度。

查看更多螢幕截圖»

 

約束的熱膨脹

現在您可以使用熱膨脹子節點增加約束條件,例如,固定約束和指定位移。這樣可以在透過約束變得理想化的周圍結構不處於固定溫度時消除由約束產生的應力。同樣地,熱膨脹子節點已添加到剛性連接附件節點,允許其他剛性對象的熱膨脹。

使用此功能時,要指定周圍非建模結構的熱膨脹係數和溫度分佈。整合由這些因素導致的熱應變可獲取一個位移場,該位移場已添加到約束。

向固定約束添加熱膨脹的效果。

向固定約束添加熱膨脹的效果。

 

殼坐標系

已改進了介面中應用的局部坐標系。透過將局部坐標系的定義移至線彈性材料節點下的殼局部坐標系子節點,更加便於對相同的材料數據使用不同材料方向。

添加介面後,定義下還會創建一個新節點殼局部坐標系,包含介面處於活動狀態且可以參考的所有邊界的局部方向;例如,設置多物理場耦合時。

兩個不同的局部坐標系,一個針對柱面,一個針對平面。

兩個不同的局部坐標系,一個針對柱面,一個針對平面。

 

完美匹配層(PML) 更新

完美匹配層特徵已添加了幾個選項,可以定制層屬性:

·       求解器中的啟用/關閉PML”選項對於建模源為計算場的散射問題非常有用。

·       用戶定義的幾何類型選項可以在PML 具有非標準幾何時使用,也可以在自動PML 幾何檢測失敗時使用。

·       您可以選擇用戶定義的坐標拉伸函數用於定義PML 縮放比例。這使您可以在PML 中定制縮放比例,例如,在特定物理場配置中非常有效地吸收波。

查看螢幕截圖»

App:車架分析器

車架的可靠性可透過分析受到不同負載工況時的結構應力來計算。本App使用LiveLink™ for SOLIDWORKS ®在計算應力分析時以交互方式更新幾何。使用本App,您可以輕鬆地測試車架在不同尺寸、材料和負載情況下的不同配置,其中根據車架的結構尺寸、材料和負載/約束計算車架的應力分佈和變形情況。

為了便於輕鬆地記錄App中的幾何從SOLIDWORKS ®檔案更新時分析得出的CAD設計,App顯示CAD文件資訊,例如最近更新的日期和時間,以及檔案名稱、其配置和顯示狀態。您可以處理車架幾何的尺寸,例如車頭角、座椅角、上管長度、底座底下降、後下叉、軸距以及五通到上管的垂直距離。您還可以將材料屬性定義為鋁、鋼、鈦或您指定的其他材料,以及指定負載工況和約束。

透過本App,您可以設置允許的最大應力因子,從而為給定的負載工況計算有效應力的控制值。

 

車架分析器”App應用資料庫路徑:LiveLink_for_Soldiworks/Applications/bike_frame_analyzer_llswStructural_Mechanics Module/Applications/bike_frame_analyzer_llsw

“車架分析器”App 的用戶界面,顯示車架上曲柄角為180 度時的有效用力。

車架分析器”App 的用戶界面,顯示車架上曲柄角為180 度時的有效用力。

*備註:要運行此App,需要使用LiveLink™ forSOLIDWORKS ®結構力學模組